Set 150 feet apart in a straight line, the three fifteen-foot-tall brick towers at Nauset Beach became known as “The Three Sisters of Nauset.” The first set of lighthouses were commissioned by Congress in 1837 to provide for a light halfway along the eastern coast of Cape Cod. The original three brick towers fell into the sea due to erosion in 1890 and were replaced with wooden towers on brick foundations in 1892. Two of the three lighthouses were moved to the current location on Cable Road in 1920. Finally the Three Sisters were reunited in 1975 after the National Park Service purchased the third tower and relocated it between its sisters on it’s current location at Cable Road where they are now nestled together in the woods.
How did The Three Sisters get their name? The completed 15-foot towers resembled three women wearing white dresses and black hats standing on the shoreline, so the nickname “Three Sisters” caught on quickly with sailors!
If you’re interested in visiting the Three Sisters Lighthouses they are really easy to find! Here’s directions:
The Three Sisters are accessible via a 1/3-mile walking trail from the parking area at Nauset Light Beach. The National Park site is open to the public with rangers offering tours from spring to fall
Travel along Route 6, heading East towards Provincetown, Turn right onto Nauset Road – third traffic light after the Orleans/Eastham rotary. Follow Nauset Road and turn left to Cable Road, continuing to its end. The three Sisters will be standing in a clearing on the left of Cable Road.
Read about The Three Sisters Lighthouses history and the chronology of its historical events here.